Buffalo Trace – Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey – 81-100


Price – 750 ml – $23.99 – (local http://www.shoppersvineyard.com)

Method – 2 ice cubes

Rating – 81-100 – standard rating scale for wine and spirits

Review –

Buffalo Trace Distillery is both the oldest existing distillery in the U.S. and the home to several small batch bourbons which I will no doubt be reviewing in the future (Most notably Blanton’s Small Batch).  The easiest part of this whiskey is buying it.  At 23.99 for a 750ml bottle, it’s probably on the lower end of cost in my collection but not at the bottom as far as taste goes.

My first glass of BT was surprising.  I was expecting more burn and less flavor for the price they put on this bottle but instead got a nice broad flavor profile to go along with the burn.  Let me say that the first drink was a kick in the mouth, a little reminiscent of Knob Creek with the punch, but mellowed out pretty soon after it and gave a nice and sweet (if very short finish).  I would say the strength of this whiskey would be its bold wood and rye flavors.  I tend to like very wood heavy whiskeys and this definitely didn’t disappointing in that regard.  The invariable weakness of the whiskey is the finish.  The oak finishes strong, but it doesn’t last very long and the burn that comes along with it doesn’t diminish, even after letting my ice open flavors fully.

I will likely buy BT again, if for no reason that its a very well priced bourbon with a good punch for those rough days.  I would recommend it, to someone who likes bourbon, but not to someone who is on the fence.  Definitely an acquired dram.

For a side by side comparison of this and Buffalo Trace Single Barrel Click Here.

Official Website: http://www.buffalotrace.com/

Official Description:   (their official description is about 3 pages long.  if youre interested go read it.  a lot of good info there 🙂 )

The Taste

Light bronze in color with streaks of gold, Buffalo Trace Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey bears a complex aroma of vanilla, mint, and molasses. Its taste is pleasantly sweet and contains notes of brown sugar and spice that give way to oak and leather. The long and dry finish has significant depth. When enjoyed with water, flavors of toffee, dark fruit and anise are revealed

6 responses to “Buffalo Trace – Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey – 81-100

  • G-LO

    A fine assessment. Buffalo Trace does make a nice, value priced Bourbon. I received a vat (a 1.5L bottle!) for Christmas about two or three years ago. I like this Bourbon for sure, but not enough to want a jug of it taking up space in my cabinet. I typically use it for mixed drinks and have tossed around the idea of attempting the Bacon Bourbon thing or possibly even trying my hand at making a Bourbon Cream liqueur (apparently, Buffalo Trace makes one that is only available at the distilery) along the lines of a Bailey’s Irish Cream. The ladies love that stuff, and I certainly don’t mind a glass during the holidays. Stay tuned for the results!

    Nice review!

    Cheers!
    G-LO

  • Buffalo Trace vs. Buffalo Trace Single Barrel – Side by Side Review – BTSB 79-100 « Whiskey World Tour

    […] be my first side by side comparison of what promises to be two very similar whiskeys.  The first, Buffalo Trace, I have already reviewed and you can click to read that review which was a favorable one.  The new […]

  • jocuri cu bile

    Hey there, this is a good write-up. You have my vote for Buffalo Trace – Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey – 81-100 Whiskey World Tour and I’ll bookmark this blog now.

  • The Gourmez » Blog Archive » Buffalo Trace Bourbon

    […] Whiskey World Tour My first glass of BT was surprising. I was expecting more burn and less flavor for the price they put on this bottle but instead got a nice broad flavor profile to go along with the burn.  Let me say that the first drink was a kick in the mouth, a little reminiscent of Knob Creek with the punch, but mellowed out pretty soon after it and gave a nice and sweet (if very short finish).  I would say the strength of this whiskey would be its bold wood and rye flavors. . . . The invariable weakness of the whiskey is the finish.  The oak finishes strong, but it doesn’t last very long and the burn that comes along with it doesn’t diminish, even after letting my ice open flavors fully. […]

Leave a Reply

