Glenkinchie – Single Malt Scotch – 12 year old — 60-100


Price – 750 ml – 47.99 (on-sale local)

Method – Two Ice Cubes*

Rating – 60-100

Review-

This was my first trip into the so-called “Classic Malts”, and I must say that given my limited scotch experience (and lack of enthusiasm for that branch of whisky-dom) I will say that I was pleasantly surprised by this one.

Now when I say I was pleasantly surprised, don’t mistake my sentiment for excitement.  I was just glad that GK wasn’t a BAD experience.  It wasn’t stellar, or something worth writing home about (though apparently its worth blogging about…), it just wasn’t a bad experience.  My past experiences with scotch have been less than satisfactory, which makes me lean away from the scotch portion of the whiskey aisle whenever I go spirit shopping.  GK, however, was my first positive experience.   It didn’t bowl me over, but it didn’t lead me to put down the glass either.

This is another whiskey that really needs to open in order for me to enjoy it.  After the two ice cubes got to about half way the flavor really expanded.  At first it is very dry tasting, and has a very earthy flavor, wood and a little bit of smoke dancing around behind the wall of earth.  However, once the water got into the mix, the flavor really expanded, giving it a really round mouth-feel and bringing the oaky flavor (which I love) further forward, and the smoky flavor (which tends to disagree with me) further back.

Over all, I had a good time with GK, but wouldn’t push for a second date.  (Though I’ll still finish my bottle 😉 )

*note.  All methods reflect two fingers of alcohol in a standard 8 oz. rocks glass

Official Site:  N/A

Official Description:  N/A

One response to “Glenkinchie – Single Malt Scotch – 12 year old — 60-100

Leave a Reply

